The establishment and operation of municipalities in Cyprus is governed by the Law on Municipalities, which was voted in October 1985 (L. 111/85), replacing the pre-existing legislation. Since then and until today, 25 more Laws were voted by the Parliament, amending the basic Law of 1985.

The Law on Municipalities is composed of 11 sections (144 articles in total) referring to separate issues.